ICEBERG is pleased to announce its third annual Young Composer Awards. These awards are intended to reward composers and music-makers of exceptional ability who hail from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds. Winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Awardees may be active in any musical style/genre.


Applicants must be:

  • At least 16 years of age

  • A citizen or permanent resident of the United States

  • Currently enrolled at an accredited high school (or home schooling program)

  • Preference will be given to applicants who self-identify as being from a traditionally underrepresented community. This includes, but is not limited to, applicants who identify as female, nonwhite, and/or LGBTQ+.

  • Applicants may not be related to or dependents of ICEBERG New Music member composers, board members, or administrators.


  • July 1, 2020 - Application opens

  • November 1, 2020 - Application closes

  • January 1, 2021 - Awardees announced

  • Autumn 2021 - Funds disbursed

2019-20 Awardees

Jane Meenaghan

(Los Angeles, CA)

Sara Stebbins

(New York, NY)

2018-19 Awardees

Nathaniel Jenkins-Goetz
(New York, NY)
Khalid Mitchell
(New York, NY)